Jocelyn Wabano-Iahtail- Excuse Me

http://www.cbc.ca/player/play/979537475603

White Lady: …you don’t think that anything he’s doing is helping the situation?

Jocelyn Wabano-Iahtail: Excuse me, did I just hear you correctly? “how can he be blamed for that”?

Excuse me. Don’t speak to us that way.

– Stop, right now. You do not speak to us that way. We are human beings, and the way you speak to us is

JWI: – not acceptable. Stop it. Stop it right now! Step out. We don’t want to hear from you. You don’t speak to us like that.

WL: “It’s a simple question, can I have an answer?”

JWI: And this is the problem, the way you communicated. You need to stop.

[WL continues to argue]

JWI: Stop!!!

(in Cree) Stop, I want you to stop being disrespectful to us. You have been doing this for a long time now, you are good at being disrespectful to us, together you people. It has been like this for a long time now.

You’re a guest here, and you don’t even know how to speak to us. You don’t even recognize the tone in your voice, in your delivery. You’re done. You’re done. Next question

White Man: I will re-ask the same question…

JWI: You better be respectful.

WM: I’m totally being respectful, I’m asking if Justin Trudeau has improved the situation…..

JWI: We have a holistic genocide happening here.

– Don’t speak on behalf of Julie.

Julie: I can speak for myself.

JWI: And I can speak for myself. You know what, White people, you’ve had your voice heard for 524 years. 524 years you’ve been visible, White lady! You’ve been visible. Look how fast your White man comes and steps up for you. Where is everybody else to come step up for us? I have a right for my voice, I’m still fighting for my voice and my visibility.

WM: We asked a question…

JWI: And I am telling you, I am telling you, right now, there has been 524 years of holistic genocide on Turtle Island. We are the ones that are dying. It’s not you that is dying.

And as far as “how Justin Trudeau is doing”? One of the things that we need to keep in mind is we are asking the UN to help us at charges of genocide, a war against humanity, war crimes and a crime of aggression, be laid. Because your Liberal Party was also responsible. Every party – your every governance that has been in power. There’s been a war conflict of Indian Residential School, 60 Indian day Scoop, and a million of damn Scoops.  None of your governments have clean hands. All of your governments have blood on their hands. None of you are different. You haven’t changed! Because you haven’t started your healing journeys.

The moment we have our voice and our backbone you want to shut us down. And you think, you’re privileged to disrespect us, the moment we tell you because of your colonial mindset and your colonial way of being, your white privilege, your white fragility – you can’t take our truth! Look how many people came to bat for you, White lady. And you’re a guest here. Without us you’d be homeless. This is over.

Leave a Reply

